Rain Bird

"Rain Bird" a crested tern at Fremantle. 195 x 240 mm. January 2017.

“Rain Bird”
a crested tern at Fremantle.
195 x 240 mm. January 2017.

Do you remember that a few weeks ago I showed you a drawing of a flying tern?  I called the drawing “Liberation“.  Back when I drew that bird, I also began another drawing of  him (or her), standing on a post seconds before take-off.  The barely-begun drawing was interrupted by my trip to France so it sat in a folder until this week when I felt like returning to it.

Though it was pouring when I took the source photos, I hadn’t made any suggestion of rain drops in “Liberation”.  Also in that drawing I decided to leave out the post completely.  This time the rain drops and post are in.

Alternative titles for the two drawings could have been…

Tern On

Tern On

Tern Off

Tern Off

“Liberation” had already sold so I couldn’t compare the colours of the two drawings – until now – when I am viewing these two images together.  I wonder if all those Paris drawings done in between these two bird drawings had any influence on my treatment of “Rain Bird”?

I have so many source photos for Paris but I miss my birds AND Kyoto.  My various subject matters are going to have to take terns (I mean turns) so that I don’t mourn their absence from my drawing life.

14 thoughts on “Rain Bird

  1. JOANNE HAYMAN

    Julie, Love the terns, especially the one with the post and the rain, but the tern that it is flying is so graceful and lovely. I miss your Kyoto pics too, The out of focus Paris pics are not really my favorites, I love the more realistic paintings, your work is so stunning, and the out of focus is so different from your usual style. I hope that I haven’t hurt your feelings. I love your paintings and your posts are so interesting, I feel as if I know you!!!! ‘Share the Joy,’ Hugs, Joanne

    Reply
    1. juliepodstolski Post author

      Hi Joanne, thanks for your comments which I value. Regarding my out-of-focus style, actually I’ve been doing it on and off for years so it really isn’t unusual for me. In the end, of course, no artist can please everybody, so she must, most of all, aim to be true to herself. Your opinions matter and you haven’t hurt my feelings.

      Reply
    1. juliepodstolski Post author

      Jeannie, in that last sentence, when I wrote “My various subject matters are going to have to take terns” – that was a TRUE mistake because I had terns on the brain. I was going to correct it but decided to leave it there.

      Reply
    1. juliepodstolski Post author

      It strikes my chord as well, Anna. When I feel too overwhelmed with world events, I get comfort from working on local birds in little old Fremantle. The scenario of ‘just’ a bird at home is somehow emotionally centering.

      Reply
  2. xanderest

    Julie, what a fabulous drawing- liberation ! I love your diagonal composition.

    Iam not surprised that you sold it so readily . And I love the wetness of Rain Bird . You can almost feel a good shake coming up.

    Love , Judy.

    Reply
  3. rhodjoy

    Love the tern on and off, Julie…..such a feeling of liberation in something so simple! Not really simple at all, is it? Beautiful as ever, you have me waiting for the NEXT phase….

    Reply
    1. juliepodstolski Post author

      I’m also wondering what the next phase will be, Joy. I’m going to have to draw birds simultaneously with Paris, I think. Perhaps my next exhibition will be a combination of both.

      Reply
  4. Nick

    Rain Bird feels more intense and I love the earthy colors. The layering of different values add so much depth. The bird looks weary but resilient, even the stuff on the post looks lovely!

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.