Liberation

"Liberation" coloured pencils on Arches Aquarelle. 195 x 240 mm.

“Liberation”
Coloured pencils on Arches Aquarelle.
195 x 240 mm.

On a rainy spring day at the port of Fremantle, a crested tern takes off.   I worked on this drawing during my September art exhibition, only returning to finish it yesterday.

After my sense of gloom at world events this week, it was comforting to come back to a drawing where I could enjoy the purity of a bird in flight.

“Liberation” came to me as a title, as I try to liberate my own spirit from the pool of collective anger, blame and worry over the disastrous results of the U.S elections.

Browse Contents of Posts Index

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in art, Birds on the waterfront, coloured pencils and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Liberation

  1. sherrytelle says:

    The world is in shock, and despair, this lovely vision is a reminder that there is still beauty in this world.

  2. Tina Walsh says:

    Beautiful Julie.

  3. This is quite different for you – the cropped composition and simplicity of image. I love it – it works so well. There is a sense of mystery where the bird is flying, and freedom too as it breaks through the boundaries of the image edge. Even in the simplicity there is so much to see, is that a bridge in the background, or cranes – it doesn’t matter. The fact that you haven’t spelt everything out makes this an image to keep coming back to.

    • Thanks, Anna. I found that I had to return to this unfinished drawing and resolve it before I could get any further with the new Paris work. Somehow, the two are linked. A thought – maybe this is a bridging work – and yes, there IS a bridge in the drawing.

  4. Optimism is essential for an Artist…. as well as the world. Every artwork goes through a an unresolved period during creation. We have to believe in it’s possibilities and ability to evolve and adapt…. will the world be able to?

    • Do you think? While at art galleries in Paris and London, I saw many paintings and sculptures by totally devastated and pessimistic artists who worked in the early-to-mid 20th century, traumatized by both world wars. So I’m not sure, myself, that optimism is essential for an artist.

  5. nick shiroma says:

    I love the atmosphere you created, it’s so calming. I am inspired that you continue to evolve in your work even though you are so accomplished. I agree with you that optimism is not essential for an artist, but a faith in whatever he or she does is essential.

    • Thank you for your comments, Nick. I am humbled by them. I had received some bad news before I started this drawing. I chose this piece to work on especially for its gentle nature. Drawing it was kind of meditative and helped me to come to terms with the sad news. I’m so glad that you find “Liberation” atmospheric. And I totally agree about having faith in what one does.

Leave a Reply

