Rain Birds

"It's raining!"

“It’s raining in January!” a rufous night heron exclaims.

What an unusual event!  Steady rain in Fremantle in January.  And what is more, it is forecast again for tomorrow.   What do the seabirds think of this?  I will head down to the river to see.

Pondering the situation...

Pondering the situation…

"Yes I can"

“Yes I can”

Nonchalance

On the other side of the great leap

A good spot to contemplate rain (and food sources)

A good spot to contemplate rain (and food sources) at East Fremantle

Further up the river a pelican meditates.

Further up the river a pelican meditates.

Close up and personal with a juvenile rufous (otherwise known as 'nankeen') night heron.

Up close and personal with a juvenile rufous (otherwise known as ‘nankeen’) night heron.

Pied cormorant observes me.

A pied cormorant poses elegantly for me.

"Which is my best side, do you think?"

“Which is my best side, do you think?”

Sadly in the world of seabirds, fishing line is a curse. If only I could have cut this tangled line off the poor little leg.

Sadly in the world of seabirds, fishing line is a curse. If only I could have cut this tangled line off the poor little leg.

I had a beautiful morning down at the port.  For a while I forgot about the human world and relished the bird world; blessings bestowed by birds.

And now its time to fly...

And now it’s time to fly…

 

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in Birds on the waterfront, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Rain Birds

  1. xanderest says:

    Lovely photos , Julie , Thanks for sharing— I particularly liked the pelican and his back ground,.

    Judy.

  2. Ellen says:

    Thanks for sharing your beautiful photos!

  3. Oh, oh, oh! Such extraordinary images. Julie!!!! You’ve outdone yourself!!!

    Ann Kullberg We Teach. We Inspire. You Shine. annkullberg.com

  4. rhodjoy says:

    Love all the photos Julie! And isn’t it wonderful to see the rain(even if it’s not supposed to be here) and so pleasant to breathe in that air, it feels so fresh. Looking forward to seeing what you will be doing with those birds!

    • Joy, the rain is an absolute BLESSING. Imagine how much our gardens are relishing the coolness and wetness of these couple of days!
      As for what I will do with these photos, not sure if I’ll draw from any of them. We’ll see. I started out thinking I was looking for source photos for drawing but very quickly thought, “I know. I’ll photograph for a blog post” so that’s what I ended up doing.

  5. Right now I so envy you rain! It is just hot, hot, hot here, day and night and has been for weeks. But these are great pictures – some I can instantly see as your drawings, others simply have integrity as a photo. Its lovely to see the different characters of these birds.

    • Hey Anna, they SURE are characters! The juvenile heron was in a car park and on a part where cars can quickly round a bend so after I photographed him, I gently shooed him back towards the scrub. He flew off at the end of the session. I was glad he left that bitumen.
      Not sure if any of these will be drawn from. Really, I was taking a break from worrying about America – and just getting out there, remembering to LIVE again.

  6. Tina Walsh says:

    Beautiful photos and prose Julie. Thank you Tina.

  7. Nick says:

    You mentioned worrying about America, I live in Oregon, USA and a lot of folks are also concerned. There is so much anger, fear, and frustration. I just hope and pray for peace. Sounds so simple and naive because there are so many opinions. We have got to get together. Thanks for the seabird pictures, they are relaxing, except for the one poor bird with the nylon around his leg.

Leave a Reply

