Gion Night

“Gion Night” completed late April 2024 with Neocolor II and coloured pencils, 23.5 x 23.5 cm.

Electric lights, illuminated signage and red Japanese lanterns glowing from a Gion Higashi side-street, together create a nocturnal abstract.

Gion Night” (above) is my third consecutive drawing of soft-focus Kyoto. “Gion Night” is the most abstract of the three, but if you know the idea began with a side-street or alley-way, you can kind of see it.

The previous two drawings are “Alone in Kyoto” and “Downtown“.

“Alone in Kyoto” Neocolor II and coloured pencils. 23.5 x 28.5 cm. April 2024.

Alone in Kyoto” (above) was drawn after “Downtown” (below). Each drawing is more pared back than the previous one, with incrementally decreasing detail.

“Downtown” Neocolor II and coloured pencils. 30 x 21 cm, drawn in March 2024.

These three drawings have been questioning, challenging, frustrating and fulfilling in turn for me as I have sought out an impressionistic essence of evening Kyoto.

7 thoughts on “Gion Night

  1. anna warren portfolio

    This is so luscious, a worthy addition to the set! I think something that makes an abstract work accessible is being able to find hints of something familiar, even if it is not spelt out, and this occurs here. As you said, there is a sense of a laneway or alley, you can feel your eye moving through it, taking you inside the warmth of the colours to a place that is for our imagination to conjure. Bravo, I love it!

    Reply
    1. juliepodstolski Post author

      Thank you Anna! I believed in the concept of this piece even though I had no idea if I could make it work. It took days of adjusting and adjusting until it came together. I didn’t mind the effort as I knew this was an experimental kind of work for me so I was open to whatever the outcome was. That it succeeded made me very happy.

      Reply
  2. Robyn Varpins

    Another balanced symphony of shape and texture. Very abstract but with a real depth of mood and sensitivity.

    Reply
  3. Tomasz Rusinowicz

    Dear Julie,

    Thank you for your pictures. I would like to be in Japan very much and I

    believe to be there soon.

    Tomasz

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.