Alone in Kyoto

“Alone in Kyoto” Neocolor II and Luminance on Arches Aquarelle smooth. 23.5 x 28.5 cm. April 2024.

Last time I traveled to Kyoto I was not in a good mood during my first evening there. No doubt I was worn out from lack of sleep and two long-haul flights. I felt that I had made a mistake in coming back. I trudged around for a while in a black mood then gave up on finding inspiration and returned to my hotel room.

Looking back at my (very few) photo images from that first evening, I wondered if I could communicate my sense of doubt in a drawing. In my journal I had written “worst first night ever“, and that I was fluctuating between despair and resignation.

Well, there can be a kind of dark beauty in introspection – perhaps.

12 thoughts on “Alone in Kyoto

  1. Susan Bertrand

    There are moments you remember- they often make the best art. I have arrived in a city several times thinking it may have been a mistake…but things all worked out for the best

    Reply
    1. juliepodstolski Post author

      True, Susan. I especially think this is the case if you are already exhausted from all the travel just to get there. After a good night’s sleep, one’s mindset is more positive.

      Reply
  2. chuckles4th

    It’s a hauntingly beautiful work, Julie. Better you take more long-haul flights and arrive in places feeling tired!

    Reply
  3. anna warren portfolio

    I absolutely love this drawing. One of your best I think. It has such atmosphere – not necessarily of your low mood, but of mystery. There is an invitation to enter this warm glowing world. Sometimes negative feelings can be transformed into beauty and this has really been the case here. Wonderful.

    Reply
    1. juliepodstolski Post author

      I am very heartened by your comment, Anna. I pushed on with this drawing with much doubt – and it took me days to resolve all the issues once I’d called it done. Even when it came to doing a blog post I was hesitant as I was so unsure about it. As we both know, it can take time to come to terms with a new work, especially if it is pushing a personal boundary. Matthew was also very encouraging about the drawing which helped me a lot.

      In this case it is the first drawing done from a photo from my new OM camera. It gives me hope that this camera will be OK for me (and my art) if I achieved a good drawing from one of its images. 

      Now I will accept the drawing completely and dismiss my uncertainty. Thank you!

      Reply
      1. anna warren portfolio

        That’s good – its a wonderful drawing, no need to feel any insecurity about it! Gradually you will acclimatise to the camera. It’s funny, so often a rocky start like that leads to something very good.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.