Candid Kyoto

On Sunday evening I departed Perth, Australia. In the late morning I arrived in Kyoto, Japan. For four days I walked and photographed.

Monday

Mamesaya-san (and maiko hidden behind her) waiting for the light to change at the pedestrian crossing on Shijo-dori.
Streetscape at northern end of Pontocho.
Entrance to a restaurant in Miyagawa-cho.
Kotono-san and small children at dusk in Miyagawa-cho.
A wave and a smile from Fukumiyo-san in Miyagawa-cho.
Elegance personified.
A contrast in style as two young ladies pass one another in Miyagawa-cho.
Fairy lights, neon and lantern outside a convenience store.
Kokinu-san on Shijo-dori followed closely by Wile E Coyote!

Tuesday

The view from my hotel window at 5:45 a.m. In the foreground are the tea-houses of Gion Kobu.
I spent the morning exploring Higashiyama (the Eastern Hills).
In the evening I met Hidetae-san at Gion Maikoya and gave her a koala.
A maiko quickly escapes a bottleneck of people in Pontocho.
Strange and shadowy goings-on inside the alley.

Wednesday

At the northern end of the Path of Philosophy, one comes to Ginkaku-ju or the Silver Pavilion – a Zen temple.
Taking shelter under umbrellas from the relentless sun.
Selfies during an afternoon on Hanamikoji-dori in Gion Kobu.
Asuha-san at an entrance in Gion Kobu.

Thursday

Haruchizu-san makes her way along Hanamikoji-dori.
Closing out the world.

And on Friday I flew back home.

Candid – 1. truthful and straight-forward; frank. 2. (of a photograph of a person) taken informally, especially without the subject’s knowledge.

12 thoughts on “Candid Kyoto

  1. Robyn Varpins

    fantastic images Julie. Some of these look perfect for drawing. Those colourful, illusive creatures are so like birds. I love the juxtaposition between tradition and new attire as well. And the gardens are magnificent.

    Reply
  2. juliepodstolski Post author

    I couldn’t agree more. Maiko and geiko are the human equivalent of birds. There’s another 700+ photos as well as these twenty. There will certainly be drawings to come from this trip.

    Reply
  3. Joy Rhodes

    Beautiful photos, Julie – the timeless elegance of these beautiful women always amazes me – they’re other-worldly in an exotic way; always wonder how long it must take them to get dressed and made up – clearly another highly skilled art! Thank you for a look into a place that has always delighted me; I think even Japanese food and crockery is elegant!

    Reply
    1. juliepodstolski Post author

      Hello Joy, I believe maiko and geiko can do their make-up quite quickly. However they absolutely need a dresser to tie their obi (the sashes). There are several professionals who race around the neighbourhoods every day obi-tying.

      Reply
  4. anna warren portfolio

    The mix of these traditional women walking among the people in 21st century clothing makes such an interesting contrast, but when you see them entering their teahouses (is that what they are?) it all makes sense, they are in their ‘proper’ place. There are so many commentaries one could make on the modern world! I would guess that none of these photos will become drawings, but each one of them offers a hint of what you will be working with. I am looking forward to seeing them!

    Reply
    1. juliepodstolski Post author

      Hi Anna, I expect you are right and that none of these will become drawings, but I never know. I might see something a couple of years down the line which I’m not seeing at the moment. I still am moved by the aesthetic of the maiko and geiko. I don’t know what it is but something about it touches me deeply and I want to draw it.

      Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.