High Noon in Pontocho

“High Noon in Pontocho”
coloured pencils and oil pastels. 22 x 27 cm. September 2017

To each of you who came to my art exhibition “Entranced” this month, thank you so much!  Many of you saw me working on this drawing and some of us discussed techniques together.

The drawing as a work-in-progress at the gallery in September 2017.

Once the exhibition closed I finished the drawing at home.   It is titled “High Noon in Pontocho” because when I checked the source photo information I found that I’d taken it at precisely 12 o clock.

People who came to the exhibition saw that looking at my blurry drawings close up and far away were two different experiences for the eyes.  So for this post I have taken a photo of the drawing from a small distance.  The blurry drawings make more sense from a wall across a room (as they are designed to be viewed)  than they do as a close-up computer screen image.

High Noon in Pontocho on the easel.

Finally, who were these two maiko?  They were Taka and Hisamomo of Pontocho.

The two maiko in the drawing

 

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in art, coloured pencil impressionism, coloured pencils, Japan, maiko and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to High Noon in Pontocho

  1. It would have been fascinating to watch you build this one, your visitors were very lucky to see the gestation. I constantly find it interesting that your drawings take the imagery way beyond the photo, good though your photos are (I realise the photo you show wasn’t your reference one). It is something to do with the balance, the composition and the careful choice of colour, and the textures you create with your pencils.The light pouring down the laneway behind the two maiko adds to the completeness of the image. I like this one a lot!!

    • Yes, Anna, people were really fascinated to see the work-in-progress especially where the exposed oil pastel undercoat was showing. One lady loved that part, but not any of the part where I’d worked the pencil over the top. She implored me to leave it. Sorry, no.

  2. rhodjoy says:

    Enjoyed the gallery and talking to you immensely, Julie! As ever, this is beautiful and very captivating because of your extraordinary light focus and choice of colours, so well balanced. As I said, you are a wonderful inspiration!

    • Joy, no exhibition of mine would be complete without a visit from you. Thanks so much for coming to the floor talk. I get a little nervous before an event like that, worried nobody will show up so I very much appreciate your taking the time to come along.

Leave a Reply

