Flames and Rainbows

It is mid-winter in Perth.   Close to my house the flame trees are flowering.

On our way home from coffee Matthew and I stop to reflect on the lorikeet action going on in the trees.

Our delight in watching the Rainbow Lorikeets is such that I have to go home to get my camera and return for some photographs.  Upside down, right way up – any way is a good way to eat.

“And these trees are delicious!”

You could walk right past your local trees and not notice…

…but it is good to stop and observe small miracles in our very midst.

Dedicated with love to my brother, Max Podstolski.  His joy of birds ever since I can remember was inspirational – and contagious!

22 November 1952 – 20 July 2017

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in Fremantle, photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Flames and Rainbows

  1. annalisafeleppa says:

    You are such a great photographer…what a delight to witness and capture. 😊

  2. chuckles4th says:

    Dear Julie,

    What a beautiful series of photos .. joyous and fresh and fun. They were wonderful pictures to dedicate to your brother, who I saw must have just passed away. My sympathies to you .. you sounded to be have been close. I can’t think of a more uplifting dedication.

    Sending big hugs, Jules

  3. Marie says:

    Love this, From Marie xxx

  4. Anna says:

    Lovely pictures and even lovelier writing, Julie xx

  5. Robyn Varpins says:

    Beautiful Julie. I have always thought of birds as the embodiment of spirit, so light and delicate with songs that evoke joy. Much love to your whole family.

  6. xanderest says:

    Julie , thanks for sharing your superb photos of the rainbow lorikeets ; they are the best I’ve seen.

    Love , Judy .

  7. Brigitte Shaw says:

    My sincerest sympathies to you, Julie and family on the loss of your brother. A lovely dedication with your amazing photos.
    Love, Brigitte

  8. charlee2 says:

    The birds are lovely and so are you. Sorry for your loss.
    Love Charlee

  9. Dixie Stovern says:

    So much I don’t know about Perth. Would love to travel there. Beautiful photos and also sorry to hear of your loss.

  10. Nick says:

    The vibrant colors are so full of life and love. A very nice tribute to your brother, who must have been a joy to be around

    • My brother and his wife, Max and Clare, visited us in April. They certainly were a joy to have around. For me, having them here was like being on holiday without having to go away.

  11. Suzanne says:

    What is this life if full of care we have no time to stand and stare…
    It’s the little things that are wonderful but go unnoticed as we rush around in this life – continue to stand and watch the birds in honour of your brother Max. My sympathies to you and your family.

  12. lovely, colourful dedication to your brother
    sorry for his passing

  13. Such a riot of exuberant colour, the birds, the flowers, even the sky – I love rainbow lorikeets, I feel they are like exuberant teenage boys, a little bit wild but really know how to have fun. What a great way to remember Max.

  14. rhodjoy says:

    Such wonderful pictures and remembering, Julie, beautiful birds and stunning trees, I actually have a few Jasmine bushes blooming, very strange winter weather, but the birdlife here in the West is spectacular.

  15. Tess Lee says:

    Oh, dear Julie, please accept my heartfelt sorry at the news of your brother’s passing. I’m sure he’s smiling at your choice of amazing photos taken of the birds and flowers he so loved. You are in my prayers.

  16. TR says:

    Dear Julie,
    I would like to send you my expression of sympathy on Max’s death.
    Tomek

    • Hello Tomsk, thank you very much. Max’s Memorial Service was yesterday. All the family came from Australia and New Zealand. It was tremendous. We celebrated Max’s life and family memories together. Love, Julie

Leave a Reply

