Kookaburra sits…

As I sat on a Sydney balcony admiring the view,

which included planes every couple of minutes,

I heard a song and turning around I saw that I was being watched

by a kookaburra on the balcony opposite.

I was inspired to sing an Australian nursery rhyme (with one or two word changes) “Kookaburra sits on the balcony/Merry merry king of the town is he/Laugh Kookaburra, Laugh Kookaburra…”

“Gay your life must be…”

“High in Syd-en-ey”.   

And when he had sat there long enough, (can you see him?)


he flew down to be with his mate.  (Can you see them?)

The End.

(Apologies to Marion Sinclair)

 

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in photo portraits of cities, photography, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Kookaburra sits…

  1. Sherry Telle says:

    As soon as the name kookaburra is mentioned that song plays in my head. That and Waltzing Matilda were songs we learned as kids as well. Beautiful little birds. Sounds like you are having a wonderful time!

    • Isn’t it nice that people outside of Australia know the song. I wasn’t sure if they would. We used to sing it at school in New Zealand too – though that particular year I am thinking of (1968), our teacher was Australian.
      I did have a terrific week in Sydney, thanks, Sherry. I’m back home in Perth now.

  2. Robyn Varpins says:

    what a delightful post. From the grand scale to the intimate. In fact the grand scale is made bearable by the intimate scale, which is easier to connect with.

  3. rhodjoy says:

    Agree entirely with your sentiments, Julie! Isn’t it funny, I was also taught that song in grade school in South Africa where I was raised – never seen anything further from Aus in my life in those days! Lovely pics and comments, hope you’re enjoying your stay in that very busy city!

    • So I have found from responses to this post that “Kookaburra Sits” was taught to school students in Australia, New Zealand, England, America, Canada and now South Africa. I had NO idea that so many people round the planet know this song.
      Joy, I’m home again now – and back into drawing.

  4. lcurlewis says:

    City birds!

  5. You certainly had an amazing view from your balcony – and a bit of urban wildlife to enhance it! I do like kookaburras, even though they can be quite murderous, recently I watched one carry off a (large) young bluetongue lizard in its beak, much too large for it to swallow. Your pair looks like an old married couple, enjoying the view.

    • I’m very happy that you and Sue came to visit me at the Sydney apartment, Anna. It’s true, kookaburras have to eat and so many creatures that we love are meat-eaters – including ourselves (unless we choose to be vegetarian).
      Matt and I were also an old married couple enjoying the view.

  6. fuzzydragons says:

    great photos 🙂 I jumped when I first heard one at the zoo lol

Leave a Reply

