Turn! Turn! Tern!

I find myself unexpectedly in Busselton (Western Australia) this weekend.  At the end of (very hot) Saturday, I walk out on the town’s famous jetty to see what the birds are doing.

dsc_4745a

Busselton on the coast of Western Australia

As the sun sets, the beautiful light is caught in the feathers of the circling terns.

dsc_4747a

dsc_4761a

I am sure this one is studying me as I pan his movements with my camera…

dsc_4793a

…then continues on his way over my head.

dsc_4794a

“To everything, turn, tern, turn,/ there is a season, turn, tern, turn,/ And a time to every purpose under heaven…”

dsc_4610a

YES!!!

dsc_4826a

As I turn to leave, I look up and there on the light pole is a tern observing the scene – and close by (but also far away) is the moon.

dsc_4876a

I think I will head back.  The sun has set now but the terns continue their flights and aerial strikes in the ever-dimming light.

dsc_4889a

“Good night.”

dsc_4887a

 

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in Birds on the waterfront, photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Turn! Turn! Tern!

  1. sharonsskow says:

    You take beautiful pictures. You’re not only a very talented artist with a bubbly and wonderful personality, you are also a very talented photographer with great eyes for details.

    • Hi Cousin Malaysia! Do you know, I find the best photo sessions are when I have no expectations therefore I am relaxed. If I have any sense of desperation, “i.e. I MUST get some photos to draw from”, then more often than not, I will come away with nothing. During this session I was only taking photos for fun, therefore I DID have fun and I came away with some nice results. In all probability none of them will ever be used as source photos for drawings.

  2. John Z. says:

    What a wonderful journey, Julie. I thoroughly enjoyed your photos and story and was instantly transported to another place.

  3. Paula says:

    Beautiful.

  4. rhodjoy says:

    Wonderful neck of the woods, Julie! And I love your photos too, I am not particularly good with a camera. Strangely enough, my iPad takes GREAT pics…..but I can’t use all of those either. I am eagerly awaiting REAL Autumn, Julie, hate this humid hot stuff. We were very spoiled in Perth this summer, it was lovely and cool……..famous last words!

    • Hi Joy, I agree, this humid weather is hard to take. It can’t last much longer. Your words are also true about our summer. It has been one of the best Perth summers I have experienced, in not being too extreme.

  5. There is something so serene about birds in flight, that sense of complete freedom. Something I envy you in the West for is being able to watch the sun set over the ocean, for us it is (almost) always over land.

Leave a Reply

