Transit Lounge

"Transit Lounge" 200 x 230 mm February 2017

“Transit Lounge”
200 x 230 mm
February 2017

Just as we humans wait in designated areas of airports for connecting flights, so birds have their own transit lounges where they rest.  Time for a little preening, gathering of breath, formulating plans, or just looking about.

At the port of Fremantle there are plenty of transit lounges, each a perfect size for one bird.  From my observation, a flying-in bird will kick off a lounge-occupying bird. “You’ve had your turn, Tern.  Hop it!”

Fly in, fly out.



I will be having a break from posting for the next two to three weeks.

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in art, Birds on the waterfront, coloured pencils and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Transit Lounge

  1. Pingback: Transit Lounge — juliepodstolski – ShayDbooks

  2. You have been busy! This tern has a look of no nonsense – you could imagine it (him? It looks quite masculine to me) saying ‘Hop it!’ to the previous occupant of the post, there is a sense of world weary humour too. I think if it could talk it would have a cockney accent.

  3. rhodjoy says:

    Not too weary for another tern, surely Julie? You deserve a break! I think this is one of your best terns……he could even be directing tern traffic I think! Have a good break Julie, look forward to seeing more of your ideas and comments.

  4. Jules Forth says:

    Hi Julie, I have long been a fan of your blog and your beautiful drawings. You may remember I once tried to buy one of your Parisian works, but it had already been snapped up by someone else!

    I am coming to Perth for the week of April 3 and was wondering if I could call in and see you. I will be staying with my sister-in-law in Carine and I would love to come and meet you and see your drawings in the flesh. Would this be convenient for you?

    Best wishes, Jules Forth

  5. Jules Forth says:

    Hi Julie, I have long been a fan of your blog and your beautiful drawings. You may remember I once tried to buy one of your Parisian works, but it had already been snapped up by someone else!

    I am coming to Perth for the week of April 3 and was wondering if I could call in and see you. I will be staying with my sister-in-law in Carine and I would love to come and meet you and see your drawings in the flesh. Would this be convenient for you?

    Best wishes, Jules

Leave a Reply

