Show Time

"Show Time" Moulin Rouge at dusk coloured pencils on Arches Aquarelle 195 x 255 mm. November 2016

“Show Time”
coloured pencils on Arches Aquarelle
195 x 255 mm. November 2016

Moulin Rouge is ugly during the day; grim and seedy looking.  When dusk descends and the lights come on, an awkward seductiveness unfolds –  like that of a fairground or circus – repelling and attracting simultaneously.  “Show Time” is the third drawing in my “Paris Revisited” series.

guiding-lights-small-size

show-time-small

Seeing the three drawings together may give an idea of what I’m trying to achieve – a new way of working with pencils; less exacting and more expressive: anti-perfectionism.

Browse Contents of Posts page

 

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in art, coloured pencil impressionism, coloured pencils, Illuminations, Paris and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Show Time

  1. As a set these work together so well. There is a soft, luscious quality to them. I remember feeling the same as you when I first saw the Moulin Rouge during daylight hours, but your drawing has caught the vibrant excitement of its night-time persona, you can almost hear the music and the flying colours of the dancers – so synonymous with Paris.

  2. nick shiroma says:

    I like the glow and the energy that comes off the neon lights. I can feel the warm and cool colors working off each other and also the feeling of space. It is a totally different world at night!

    • It IS a different world, Nick. I spent much of the time, while taking the photos during this photo session, watching my back and sides too – as there were plenty of suspicious looking types who seemed to be watching me.

  3. ginalawley says:

    I feel privileged and excited to see these new drawings. They are, as always, amazing! Thank you!

  4. xanderest says:

    Hi, Julie, Thanks for sending images of your Moulin Rouge impression – to me they are better than the real thing! I like your soft atmospheric style. It must be more fun to do a picture that is not so demanding in terms of having no faces and no incredibly complex fabrics etc.

    Love, Judy.

    • Hi Judy, thanks for your thoughts. You know, amazingly, it isn’t easier. With in-focus work there are clear boundaries. It is straight-forward. With soft-focus the boundaries hardly exist as everything blurs into everything else. I find this sort of thing harder than, say, the fabric patterns of “Doll of Paradise”. In fact I am still rather afraid of this sort of drawing…but I’m persisting with it.

Leave a Reply

