The Humble Seagull

"The Humble Seagull" Coloured pencils on Arches Aquarelle September 2016

“The Humble Seagull”
Coloured pencils on Arches Aquarelle
September 2016

"Port Side" Coloured pencils on Arches Aquarelle September 2016

“Port Side”
Coloured pencils on Arches Aquarelle
September 2016

My art exhibition “Fascination: Maiko, Geiko, Kyoto” is on at the moment.  Leading up to it I was such a bundle of nervous energy that I had to try to find something to calm me down.  These two drawings are the products of “how I kept calm and carried on”.  For as you might also have found in your life, if your hands are idle, your brain starts manufacturing problems.

At present I am at the gallery from 10 a.m to 4 p.m (until 2nd October).  I can’t sit there any longer without DOING something.  Tomorrow I am going to take a small drawing to work on…a crested tern this time.  Working on a drawing might stop me from becoming sleepy in the blank spaces between visitors.

If you are in Perth or Fremantle, please come and visit me at Early Work Gallery, shop 9/330 South Terrace, South Fremantle.  I’d love to see you.  (P.s we have chocolates at the gallery AND the chance to go in the draw to win a box of 40 Luminance pencils by Caran d’Ache.)  As for the art, you be the judge.

Browse Contents of Posts Index

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in art, Birds on the waterfront, coloured pencils and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Humble Seagull

  1. di PLUM says:

    lovely pieces and wonderfully done as always. Glad they helped you as they amaze us.

  2. Hi Julie
    I’ll visit tomorrow afternoon. Looking forward to it! Camilla x

  3. sherrytelle says:

    I’d love to come and see your amazing work up close, and I wouldn’t even need a chocolate to entice me. Although they are my weakness. Once again your blog is waiting in my in box to enjoy with my morning coffee, as good as a chocolate any day. Wishing you a fantastic show and happy drawing while you are there.

    • Hi Sherry, It would be amazing to have you come to the exhibition but it is such a very long way from Canada!
      The show is going very well but I still find exhibiting to be an emotional roller-coaster. I suppose it is because 23 months and two weeks out of 24 months I sit at home and draw. For just two weeks out of 24 months I’m in the public eye and it is such a huge adjustment to make.

  4. Taking a small drawing to work on in the gallery is a great idea, a good distraction and occupation for you, and a great insight into your methods for your visitors. These ‘Humble Seagulls’ are elevated to something different by these portraits, giving them a dignity that we don’t consider when we see them around us.

    • Hi Anna, hmmm. I’m very uncertain about drawing in ‘public’. Don’t know if I can really do it as I will probably find it impossible to concentrate. I’m only giving it a go so that I don’t go crazy with boredom when there is nobody in the gallery. Plus, the desk I sit at is right beside a beautiful southern-facing window which gives the most perfect drawing light. You’d think that I’d choose a ‘sure-thing’ to draw in a public space but of course that would be dead boring for me so I’m choosing something which has a better-than-even chance of failing. Such is life.

      • I wasn’t really thinking about you drawing in public as such, you will be busy talking to people when they are in the gallery, but I’m sure they would find it interesting to see a work in the early stages, and your materials and set-up, although of course it wouldn’t be quite like your studio. But it certainly will stave off boredom in the quiet patches!

      • Well, Anna, today at the gallery was so good because I had a drawing to work on. People actually DID like to see me working and asked questions about technique etc. Also I think it made people less self-conscious about walking around as I was busy doing something i.e. not looking at them. It certainly made me much more relaxed to have something ‘normal’ to do.

  5. Absolutely LOVE this drawing!!

    How is the show going??

    Ann Kullberg We Teach. We Inspire. You Shine. annkullberg.com

  6. Tina Walsh says:

    What a wonderful productive idea Julie. Your seagulls are beautiful. I will come down tomorrow with my great grandson Oliver. Can’t wait to see you and your wonderful art. X Tina.

Leave a Reply

