Seabirds of Fremantle

Pelican at East Fremantle

Pelican at East Fremantle

Last week I took the plunge and bought a new camera to replace my 2008 model Nikon D90.  The new camera is a Nikon D7200 with an 18-300 mm lens.  I spent Thursday and Friday reading the manual.  During the weekend I took it for a test drive.  My subject – seabirds of Fremantle.

Silver gull with the port of Fremantle behind.

Silver gull with the port of Fremantle behind.

Cormorant at East Fremantle.

Cormorant at East Fremantle.

Darter at East Fremantle

Darter at East Fremantle

Cormorant

Cormorant in front of “Left Bank” café

Osprey at the very top of the lighthouse at North Mole.

Osprey at the very top of the lighthouse at North Mole.

Here you can appreciate that I was standing way below the osprey.

Here you can appreciate that I was standing way below the osprey.

Osprey in flight

Osprey in flight

Crested tern at North Mole

Crested tern at North Mole

Seagull in flight.

Seagull in flight.

Cormorant at East Fremantle.

Cormorant at East Fremantle.

Consensus:  The Nikon D7200 is an absolute dream – and – some bird drawings are inevitable.  I’m in love!

Browse Contents of Posts index

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in Birds on the waterfront, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Seabirds of Fremantle

  1. sherrytelle says:

    Do I see some more bird drawings in your future! Loved the shots, you have such interesting birds. On the prairies here the best we can do is the bald eagle and an occasional swan. Can’t wait to see what you capture with your new toy!

    • Oh – you remind me that I forgot to get a photo of a black swan. But I guess that isn’t necessarily a seabird – more of a river-and-lake bird. Yes, we are very lucky with our bird variety.

  2. Tina Walsh says:

    BEAUTIFUL JULIE !!

  3. Mark says:

    Gorgeous photos especially the Pelican on the rippling water – paint that one!!

    • Thanks, Mark. It IS a lovely photo but I wouldn’t try to do a drawing of it. You see, to me, it is complete as a photo. I prefer the photos where there is tons of room for pencil-y interpretation, for example, where the background is totally blurry.

  4. fuzzydragons says:

    love the osprey photos! they are all very nice tho 🙂

  5. DIane Plum says:

    Wow. Love these pictures.

    • Photographing birds is just like photographing maiko and geiko (geisha) except that birds have a much greater area to move about in and they are very fast at leaving the scene of the viewfinder. Whoosh. Gone. Photo op lost.

  6. julie says:

    Would love to see this series Julie xx

  7. That is a good lens – not to mention a good eye behind the camera. These are so wonderfully crisp. I can see exactly what you mean (as in your reply above) about these being complete as photos. Sometimes it is the less good photos that offer more scope to become a drawing. I am looking forward to some bird drawings, I very much enjoyed the previous ones you have done.

    • I’m trying a drawing now, Anna, but having pre-exhibition jitters, I’m not sure how I will go with it. My concentration level is horribly low – possibly too low to carry out a drawing. We’ll see.

  8. Alison says:

    Nice work Julie, an impressive lens with a talented photographer (not to mention artist) behind it 😊

  9. Tess Lee says:

    Wow…great shots, Julie….what an amazing camera….and beautiful birds, to boot… 😀

  10. Steve says:

    Thanks for your bird pictures. I was able to identify the crested tern which I caught in my fishing line. I was able yo free him unharmed. A beautiful bird.

    • That’s a coincidence. I also untangled a tern from a fishing line (somebody else’s fishing line). It was in Kalbarri, Western Australia, around 2000 or 2001. The tern would have drowned if I hadn’t rushed in to save it. It was the best feeling when the tern was freed from the line and took off out of my hands.

Leave a Reply

