Kimihiro and Kimitoyo

A touch of Klimt; surely the obi on the right was influenced by the Viennese artist.

A touch of  Gustav Klimt; surely the obi on the right was influenced by his art.

Three weeks ago today I happened across the Erikae of Kimihiro of Miyagawa-cho.  Here are eight of my favourite photos from this most fortunate of spontaneous photo-shoots.

I took the top photo during the Erikae walk.  I was one of a hoard of photographers.  But then it was all over.  The photographers dispersed.  Half a dozen of us remained, chatting, deciding what to do next – when Kimihiro surprised us by coming back out of her okiya.

Kimihiro steps out of her okiya.

Kimihiro re-emerges.

Kimihiro’s sister, Kimitoyo, appeared; I don’t even remember where she came from. Perhaps she also came out of the okiya.  It is all a blur in my mind.  They delighted us by posing with a baby.  Possibly the baby was related to them or she could have been the neighbour’s baby.  (Yes, the baby’s mother was there too, standing to one side.)

Kimihiro with her sister, Kimitoyo and a baby.

Kimihiro, Kimitoyo and the baby.

Kimitoyo and the baby.

Kimitoyo and the baby.

It was such a happy time of posing.  How often have I seen a maiko holding a baby?  Never – until that moment.

Kimihiro outside her okiya.

Kimihiro outside her okiya.

Three is a GOOD crowd - Kimihiro and Kimitoyo are joined by Fukutomo.

Three is a GOOD crowd – Kimihiro and Kimitoyo are joined by Fukutomo.

Fukutama can't help but smile at the celebrations.

Fukutama can’t help but smile at the celebrations as she passes by.

I like this photo because of the delicate hand movement of Kimitoyo, reminding us that these young women are ARTISTS.

I like this photo because of the delicate hand position of Kimitoyo, reminding us that these young women are custodians of traditional Japanese PERFORMING ARTS.

I was over-the-moon to be able to photograph the small ‘happening’ after the erikae walk. Occasionally I will know in advance that an erikae or misedashi will be on while I am in Kyoto but I didn’t know about this one.  What a gift!

Related post:  Sisters (my first post about Kimihiro and Kimitoyo)

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in geiko, geisha, Japan, maiko, photography, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Kimihiro and Kimitoyo

  1. Diane Plum says:

    Wonderful pictures of a special time.

  2. Wow, they are really friendly and happy. Like their smile. 🙂

  3. Nice pictures too. 🙂

  4. What a wonderful treat, thank you for sharing the beauty.

  5. What wonderful photos! I can see any one of these as one of your drawings. The first one is such a strong composition, and I love the one of Fukutama in her gorgeous green kimono and happy face.

    • Anna, I was ready to begin on the first one – but – I’m not mentally in the right place to do it at the moment. Right now my mind is more on the soft-focus ambiguous kind of compositions – like my last drawing “Hurry Up!”. I’m quite sure I will draw from the top photo one day in the future. It doesn’t look like it will make it into the September exhibition though.

  6. What lovely photos Julie, it is nice to see everyone so relaxed and smiling. That baby is so cute! Karen

  7. bette says:

    These photos are so lovely. Exactly what us crazy stressed out Westerners need to see. Thanks Julie. Bette

Leave a Reply

