Sisters

DSC_0603asmall

I made a spontaneous visit to Kyoto last week.  As far as I knew nothing was happening; no erikae or misedashi (debuts).  I planned to walk and photograph for three days and hoped that I would find some good material for drawing.  Imagine my surprise when on the second day I walked into an erikae!  It was the erikae of Kimihiro of Miyagawa-cho.  I was incredulous and gobsmacked!   But there was no time to be a stunned mullet.  I gathered up my wits and got straight to work with my camera.

Today I have been sifting through 800+ images from my three Kyoto days and printing a great many of them. The top photo moved me to stop what I was doing and quickly write a blog post.  The photo is of Kimihiro and her younger sister, Kimitoyo.  I don’t mean just geiko/maiko sisters but REAL sisters.  Kimitoyo looks so proud of her big sister.  You can see there is love, respect and admiration between these two girls.

DSC_0606a

This interaction came when the official erikae walk was over.  Kimihiro went inside her okiya and at that point most of the photographers left.  I was chatting to a friend when, surprisingly, Kimihiro came back outside with Kimitoyo.  Only a handful of people witnessed this sisterly scene.   There was much posing, chatting and laughing – and happily for me, tolerance of the photographers.DSC_0610asmall

Related post:  Kimihiro and Kimitoyo  more photos from the Erikae of Kimihiro

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in geiko, geisha, Japan, maiko, photography, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sisters

  1. sherrytelle says:

    Sisters have a special bond don’t they? Love the blog and can’t wait to see what you do with the photos you took Cousin Julie! Sadly I worked early this morning and didn’t turn the computer on,so I missed the blog with my morning coffee!

  2. Such an interesting contrast between the two faces – one twenty first century, the other timeless, not to mention the phone photograph being taken! Two worlds colliding … aren’t those background posters great too? I can see you have got lots of material in this short trip!

  3. What a fantastic surprise for you Julie, I am sure you will make good use of the material. Karen

  4. shechen says:

    How beautiful to know these people exist in our crazy world. Just exquisite and peaceful. I can see why you are drawn ( no pun) to them- Lucky Julie to have that strong connection.

Leave a Reply

