Chicago

A wide view of Chicago from an architectural boat cruise.

A wide view from our “Chicago Architecture River Cruise”.

During our recent trip to America, Matthew and I had one and a half days to briefly look at Chicago.  Here are a few photos taken during our walk on a rather brisk (fairly freezing) spring day.

I will remember Chicago as a city of flowers. I have never seen such a wealth of beautiful flower beds on major city streets as I saw here in Chicago.

I will remember Chicago as a city of flowers. I have never seen such a wealth of beautiful flower displays on major city streets as I saw here.

The spectacular flowers arrested my attention.

The spectacular tulips grabbed my attention.

I was continually aiming my camera down...

I was continually aiming my camera down…

...and back up!

…and back up again!

The banner says "Chicago. We're glad you're here". And we were glad as well. Anyone could see we were gob-smacked tourists as we stood about craning our necks skywards.

The banner says “Chicago. We’re glad you’re here!” And we were glad as well.  I photographed the sun just to prove it was out.  It didn’t appear to have much heat in it though.

Matt in front of Trump Tower.

Matt in front of Trump Tower.  Matt’s hat outed him as a tourist…(most probably from Australia).

Did somebody say the word "Trump"?

Did somebody say the word Trump?  (Just seein’)

I saw this sign in various places. This one was at the entrance to a shopping centre. It was quite a shock to me - reminding me graphically that people carry guns in this country.

This caught my eye.  It was at the entrance of a shopping centre. It was quite a jolt – reminding me graphically that guns are real and plentiful in America.   No, I had never seen a sign like this before and I have been to many countries.

Bridges; elegant and imposing, cross the Chicago River at regular intervals. Matt's hat of choice alerted locals that he was not one of them.

Imposing steel bridges cross the Chicago River at regular intervals.

What a great place if you happen to be keen on architecture.

What a great city if you love architecture.

On reflection: a cityscape within a wall of glass.

On reflection: a cityscape within a wall of glass.

A touch of elegance to finish. This dress was made of chain mail!!!

A touch of elegance to finish which brings to my mind Fred Astaire.  The dress in this display window is made of chain mail!

Our glimpse was enough to fuel our curiosity and enthusiasm to return.  Chicago seemed like the modern gleaming city, embracing high rise living and looking towards the future while retaining gorgeous buildings from many past eras.  “Futuristic”, says Matthew.

Browse Contents of Posts index

 

 

 

 

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in photo portraits of cities, photography, travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Chicago

  1. Tig Beswick says:

    Thanks for taking us along on your trip! Wonderful images and interested to see if you try any out with the pencils.

  2. elisa ruland says:

    I’m glad you were able to enjoy the best of Chicago in your short time frame. It’s amazing how much territory one can cover when we put our minds to it. Beautiful photography!

    • We enjoyed Chicago very much, Elisa. Also found the most enormous bookshop which I spent ages in and bought two terrific books. Plus spent all the following morning (before we had to fly out) in the Museum of Contemporary Art.

  3. elisa ruland says:

    Ha, sorry! Lots of typos, thank you auto correct…
    s/b short and put. 😊

  4. I’ve been to Chicago, but when I see your pictures – wherever you’ve been, it always feels like I never really was there at all. It’s like you just DIVE DEEP into a city somehow. You see what should be seen. You should be a travel writer…a picture book travel writer!

    Ann Kullberg We Teach. We Inspire. You Shine. annkullberg.com

  5. Merilyn Elson says:

    Nice photos! bought back memories for me too – I
    enjoyed the Architecture Cruise also. Always interesting to see a city through another’s eyes.
    Thanks for sharing.

  6. Mark says:

    Fabulous city, great food, real people in Chicago…..did you go to the Field Museum and see the NZ Marae there?

  7. Chicago is a city I REALLY want to go to – it sounds vibrant, exciting, a place where new ground is being broken, a true modern city. Even on a grey day the architecture is wonderful. The mass of tulips with the leaves across it is a wonderful textural mix.

Leave a Reply

