The Streets of San Francisco

A view looking towards Telegraph Hill.

A view looking towards Telegraph Hill.

It was a fresh end-of-April spring day in San Francisco when I explored the area around Telegraph Hill.  This was my first trip to the fair Californian city.  Much of it looked familiar to me as topography and architecture was not unlike that from my city of birth, Wellington, New Zealand.  I happily walked up and down the very steep streets, taking photographs along the way.  Seeing a place for the first time has a very special magic.

I was reminded of Wellington...

I was reminded of Wellington…

...and the port of Lyttleton near Christchurch.

…and the port of Lyttleton near Christchurch.

Street art dogs. Is this what the sign "curb your dog" means?

Street art dogs. Is this what the sign “curb your dog” means?

Ahh - the drama of a well-placed stop sign.

Ahh – the drama of a well-placed stop sign.

Looking back across to where I took the first photo in this post.

Looking back across to where I took the first photo in this post (at the top of the page).

street-scape with yellow crossing

street-scape with yellow crossing

A view from the top of Telegraph Hill with Golden Gate bridge in the distance.

A view from the top of Telegraph Hill with Golden Gate bridge in the distance.

Australian bottle brush with the tower poking through.

Australian bottle brush with the tower behind.

My first EVER sighting of a hummingbird.

My first EVER sighting of a hummingbird.

I spent ages watching these gorgeous birds...

I spent ages watching these gorgeous birds…

...and trying to get photos of them...

…and trying to get photos of them…

...which wasn't an easy thing to achieve!

…which wasn’t an easy thing to achieve!

At some stage I took a tram - or was it a street-car?

At some stage I took a tram – or was it a street-car?  I like the retro-design.

I was determined to see a group of elegant Victorian houses known as the Painted Ladies. More steep climbing!

I was determined to see a group of elegant Victorian houses known as the Painted Ladies. More steep climbing!

Painted Ladies with blossom 1.

Painted Ladies with blossom 1.

Painted Ladies with blossom 2.

Painted Ladies with blossom 2.

The cable cars were wonderful. I felt like Noddy in ToyTown.

The cable cars were wonderful. I felt like Noddy in ToyTown.

Finally, back into the city where my hotel was.

Finally, back into the city where my hotel was.

 

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in photo portraits of cities, photography, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Streets of San Francisco

  1. snowtoseas says:

    Beautiful photos! I really would love to go to San Francisco one day. I know the art scene is incredible.

    • I have to admit, Ania, that I never saw a thing of the art scene. I was only in town for three days so I spent all of my time out in the streets with my camera. However I did get to galleries in Chicago and New York.

  2. Deborah Field says:

    Dear Julie

    Your eye is amazing! I love these photos – and having lived in NYC on and off for a couple of years, also your fab aspect of Manhattan and Williamsburg bridges. I’m back there early July for my daughter’s wedding and you have inspired me to do the same walk as you did. So lovely to see you on Friday and looking forward to your exhibition xx

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Deborah! I am always happy when we run into one another, as we did at the exhibition last Friday.
      Regarding New York, I particularly wanted to go to Williamsburg as I had heard about the population of Hasidic Jews and I wanted to see them. I am fond of unique societies like Hasidic Jews and geisha…not run-of-the-mill like the rest of us.

  3. sherrytelle says:

    Once again I am pleasantly surprised with a Julie Blog to go with my morning coffee. We love San Francisco and have relatives there. Very dear friends of ours have several hummingbird feeders in their yard in BC Dennis spent entire days snapping shots of them. Some getting so close you can feel the wind off their wings. I have tried to lure them to my yard to no avail.

    • Sherry, you said it! I also felt the wind from their wings. They like to tease by coming super-close. What a joy!!!
      I know it was self-indulgent of me to write a post the very day after a previous one, but once I’d done New York, I thought I might as well get straight on to San Francisco.

  4. Camilla Loveridge says:

    What a lovely way to spend a day, Julie…and get that exercise, no doubt! Yes…it is like Wellington, as I recall! Sunnier than NYC 🙂 Thanks for the sharing Camilla x

    >

  5. Diane Woodman Plum says:

    So glad to see such creative pictures. You captured the ups and downs beautifully

  6. Thanks for taking me on your tour, it was so nice to see something else of San Francisco other than the bridge. Just loved the architecture and those amazing humming birds. Karen

  7. Love the painted ladies!

    As you can tell, it’s my day for reading, answering and clearing out all my non-urgent emails!

    Ann Kullberg We Teach. We Inspire. You Shine. annkullberg.com

  8. There seems something very welcoming about San Francisco, from your photos it looks more European than American somehow. I’ve never been there and would love to – it looks so different from New York (which I love), maybe slower paced and more relaxed. The humming bird pictures are fabulous! What a find!

    • I must have hung out in affluent areas because the houses were terribly elegant and architecturally gorgeous. On a drive to somewhere on the outskirts of San Francisco I saw much poorer looking areas from the bus. The houses looked like piles of little boxes. I thought of that song “Little boxes on the hillside/little boxes made of ticky tacky/little boxes on the hillside/and they all look just the same”. Do you remember that song from our youth? (It was written in 1962.)

  9. Nice pictures of SF. Is there any particular area you recommend visiting? I’m going there in October and really looking forward to it.

    • Hi Stian, I don’t feel qualified to answer your question as I only explored for two days. (The other day I was there was raining.) I mainly was in the areas where the cable cars ran. There are three different lines and I explored them all. I liked Japantown – but that is because I am a nut for all things Japanese. I loved the Telegraph Hill area. I also visited Castro which was bustling with gay life. I probably explored about 1% of San Francisco!!

Leave a Reply

