Performance

Ryoka

Ryoka

I was fortunate to be in the audience when Miyako, Hinagiku, Ryoka, Tomitae and Tomitsuyu (Geiko and Maiko from Gion Higashi) performed in Perth, Western Australia, on Friday evening.  (Click on the images below to enlarge them.)

Ryoka and Hinagiku

Ryoka and Hinagiku

It was the first time that Geiko and Maiko have ever come to Australasia.  They were here as guest performers, brought over by the Japanese Government, for The Perth Japan Festival 2016 (as well as performing in Sydney and New Zealand).

Tomitsuyu

Tomitsuyu

Tomitsuyu reminding me of The Statue of Liberty

Tomitsuyu reminding me of The Statue of Liberty

Ryoka with circles

Ryoka framed

From left: Tomitsuyu, Hinagiku, Tomitae, Miyako and Ryoka

From left: Tomitsuyu, Hinagiku, Tomitae, Miyako and Ryoka

Hinagiku

Hinagiku

Hinagiku sings the Gion Kouta (Song of Gion). Miyako plays shamisen. Obi-view of Tomitae.

Hinagiku sings the Gion Kouta (Song of Gion). Miyako plays shamisen. Obi-view of Tomitae.

It was a beautiful performance.  I only wish they had danced three times as long as they did.

Ryoka and I

After the show; Ryoka and I

There were two outdoor performances in the centre of Perth shopping precinct on the following day.  I will write about that (with lots of photos) in the next day or two.

It was a whirlwind visit.  Our honoured guests have already left us and are on their way to New Zealand where they will perform in Auckland and Wellington on 1st and 5th March respectively.

I hope to follow their visit with my own performance; that is, a drawing to commemorate an absolutely unique-to-Perth experience.

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in art, geiko, geisha, Japan, maiko, photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Performance

  1. stéfan2009 says:

    I knew you’ll make a drawing !! ;D
    I wonder which photo you’ll select, may we know please ^^; ?

    • I don’t know myself yet, Stéphanie. It might, in fact, be one from the following day’s performance outdoors. I need a little time to let the events settle in my mind. In the meantime I will continue to work on a small picture which I started on Friday.

  2. Tina Walsh says:

    Beautiful photos Julie. x Tina.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. Despite the heat, you managed to capture some great shots. The first one, and the other one of Ryoka offer lots of possibilities (to my eyes anyway!) for drawings, with the strong colours and repeating shapes. The halo that she has in the first one can’t have been just a happy accident!

    • Well, Anna, this wasn’t the heat day but the night-before-the-heat day at a special performance for invited guests. I don’t think I will do any drawings from this trip as my overall experience was not really a happy one; it was rather frustrating. Therefore the mood is wrong for me to want to make a drawing from any of my photos. Of course I might change my mind in the future but that is how I feel at the moment.
      ps. No, the halo wasn’t accidental.

      • Do you think seeing them in such a different environment took something away from their authenticity? To me it did seem to take a lot of suspension of disbelief to appreciate them properly in a western town hall.

      • No it didn’t take anything away from their authenticity to me. I explain my feelings in the next post “Jewels of Kyoto in Perth”.

Leave a Reply

