Encounter

Encounter Coloured pencils on Arches Aquarelle 300 gsm February 2016

Encounter
Coloured pencils on Arches Aquarelle 300 gsm
February 2016

For the past month I have been working on “Encounter”.  The drawing came out of a combination of two photos I had taken back in spring, 2013.  In this drawing I take reality and spin it into a slightly different story.  The term for this process is ‘artistic license‘. My bending of the truth makes for a much more interesting tale than what I actually saw through the lens of my camera.  What do I mean?  I invite you to look at my two source photos.  (Clicking on them will enlarge them.)

Source photo 1

Source photo 1

Source photo 2

Source photo 2

If you can be bothered scrutinizing the photos and comparing them to the drawing – (I suggest you simply take my word for it) – you will see that bits from both photos appear in the drawing.  Importantly, I have subtracted that which is unnecessary; various pipes, a Marlboro cigarette ad and, the main omission, the girl walking the dog.

Geiko and dog exchange glances as they approach one another on a Pontocho morning.   I can almost imagine them uttering morning greetings, “Ohayou gozaimasu”.   This is another of my drawings, therefore, which lurks under a based on a true story umbrella.  Julie’s truth.

Check out  Contents of Posts Index

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in art, coloured pencils, geisha, Japan, photography, photorealism, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Encounter

  1. Steve Abramson says:

    Excellent choice on your part. The dog walker adds a different meaning to the picture. More of a cultural thing. Love you work and blog.

  2. sherrytelle says:

    Once again I am surprised with a morning treat I just love this new piece! With the time change between you and I, your blog posts are what I see in the morning when I pour a coffee and sit down to look at my emails. This piece made me smile and settle down to read the story behind it. One thing I so love about your work is how you are able to show depth and distance without compromising colour. Your blog posts are something I look forward to for many reasons, but first and foremost I love to read your thought process on the how and why of your pieces. Thank you for the morning treat!

    • Conversely, Cousin, my morning treat is getting to read your comments – made while I was fast asleep. I so like it when a comment is that a drawing I’ve done causes someone to smile. So thank you for saying that.

  3. Diane Plum says:

    Julie, again I am in awe. This clever encounter brings a smile all over my face. Love it so much.

  4. Once again you have made the drawing so much more than the photo, more than just a record of a moment in time. It becomes much more refined than that, and tells the story you want to tell, and adds an element of humour. You are USING the photo rather than copying it. I also like how you have adapted the colours, such as in the kimono, to improve the composition. Just a small, but important element is the geiko walking ahead down the lane, echoing the forms. Lovely!

    • Ahhh, you look past the cute story and see the compositional elements, Anna. One of the reasons I like drawing geiko from behind is because I like obi so much. I like the way the obi is a compositional tool. That square shape dissects the body and makes a strong point of interest. Of course I emphasized the complementary colours; orange obi, blue yukata – and in the distant geiko – lilac obi/yellow yukata. I also zinged up the orange in the dog so that his colour and the orange obi had a relationship. Another reason for turning up (so to speak) the orange in the dog was so that he stood out from the blue pavement. He needed to stand out a lot more than the dog in the photo did.

  5. Great story and composition Julie, you captured the dogs expression perfectly. Karen

  6. The mundane becomes enchanted under your pencil. So much better than real life.

Leave a Reply

