Love Story

Love Story Coloured pencils on Arches Aquarelle hot-pressed 300 gsm paper. December 2015

Love Story
Coloured pencils on Arches Aquarelle hot-pressed 300 gsm paper.
December 2015

A stroll together down Pontocho lane at dusk as the lanterns and neon signs start popping on; this is a love story.  The drawing is small in size yet big in heart; a Kyoto dreamscape.

Here is the paper I used – for the first time.  It took the pencils beautifully.  Information on where I sourced it is on my Art Materials page.

Arches Aquarelle

Browse Contents of Posts index

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in art, coloured pencils, drawing paper and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Love Story

  1. Tina Walsh says:

    Wonderful! Bright,beautiful and the lights really pop. X Tina.

  2. Your out of focus work is amazing Julie, I sat looking at the drawing for ages just taking in the rich textures and glowing hues. Karen

  3. Jeannie says:

    I think this small picture will have a lot of impact and get much attention. Just imagine it glowing away to add light to a room!

  4. I love this piece – there is so much mystery, yet in a way it is clear what it is. The lights glow and the figures tell their own story.

    • Thanks Anna. There is a lot of room for interpretation, I think, when working in out-of-focus. There are no absolutes, no borders, the pencils are free to skid around the page. I was trialling Arches Aquarelle from a block of 20 sheets. I must say the paper performed beautifully. I’m glad it did because I had bought four blocks and imported them from Dick Blick. Now that I know how the paper takes the pencils I’m starting a bigger out-of-focus drawing on it.

Leave a Reply

