Spring Song

Spring Song Drawn in October 2012 298 x 425 mm.

Spring Song
Drawn in October 2012
298 x 425 mm.

Exactly one week ago I was showing Ann Kullberg* around Kings Park.  This beautiful park is Perth’s botanic garden.  As we walked around, I told her that I had done a drawing of the spring wild flower display in 2012.  In fact, I said, an image of the drawing was on my business card.  I fished one of my business cards out of my wallet to show her.  She looked at it and said, “But that’s a photo”.  I assured her that it wasn’t.  I told her I would show her the drawing on a blog post.  So here it is.  “Ann – this is not a photo but quite a large drawing.”

In 2012 I thought that I might have found a new subject in flowers.  However it drove me crazy drawing this due to the complicated details.  So I haven’t followed it up with any more botanical drawings.  I love plants but I don’t have the calling to make art of them. I’m happy merely to be an observer of their elegance without wanting to reproduce them with pencils.

Ann Kullberg photographs the view from a Japanese-style pedestrian bridge in Kings Park.

Ann Kullberg photographs the view from a Japanese-style pedestrian bridge in Kings Park.

After our morning in Kings Park, we drove to Point Walter; another gorgeous area in my neighbourhood.  Later that evening I drove Ann to the airport.   It is incredible to think that all this was only a week ago.  Now I’m still here while Ann is teaching coloured pencils on a cruise around Alaska.

****

*Ann Kullberg is an American artist, teacher, and writer of magazines and books on coloured pencils.  She held two colour pencil weekend workshops in Perth, Western Australia.  It was my privilege to host her.

Belinda Lindhardt, artist, teacher and founder of Australian and New Zealand Coloured Pencil Group came over from New South Wales for the second workshop.  This was a time to learn from one another and exchange ideas.

Belinda Lindhardt, Julie Podstolski and Ann Kullberg.

Belinda Lindhardt, Julie Podstolski and Ann Kullberg.

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in art, coloured pencils, photorealism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Spring Song

  1. Virginia says:

    How wonderful to have Anne Kullberg visit you in Australia…thank you for sharing!
    I love, love, love your beautiful floral painting!

  2. Jasmine says:

    Julie, Spring Song is truly beautiful, you are so talented!! Hope you, Mathew and family all well.

  3. That really is a lovely drawing – I think I can see why the detail drove you mad, but then, the level of detail in many of your kimonos is even more intense. It must be just something about the story you are telling.

  4. So great to see your drawing of flowers, not one I had seen before. It is so interesting to see what others find interesting to draw and what drives us crazy. Thank goodness we all are different and we have such a variety of subjects. Karen

  5. I have attended many of Ann’s cruises, classes and one of her Japan trips. I just love her dearly. I know you girls had fun. It looks like you were the perfect host….the two of you were always doing something fun.

    I agree about those tedious botanicals! I’d much rather have the challenge of working in portraiture.

  6. Bonny says:

    I think I know exactly the feeling you have about that drawing. I have a bunch of pieces like that here as well. I call it the love/hate relationship. 🙂

    • Well, Bonny, I don’t have any bad feeling towards the drawing at all. I really like it. But the love/hate thing you are talking about – yes – there was some of that in the actual drawing process of it.

Leave a Reply

