The Power of Glow

Interplay 280 x 330 mm Coloured pencils February 2015

Interplay
280 x 330 mm
Coloured pencils
February 2015

I have been playing with electricity.

Neon and Paper 250 x 265 mm.   Coloured pencils. February 2015

Neon and Paper
250 x 265 mm.
Coloured pencils.
February 2015

In all three drawings I have employed a layer of white underneath the colours of the lanterns in order to create a ‘glow’ effect.

Minamiza Lantern Coloured pencils 280 x 330 mm January 2015

Minamiza Lantern
Coloured pencils
280 x 330 mm
January 2015

It was like a light-bulb moment when I had the idea to underlay with white.  “Power to the pencil” (to be sung to the tune of “Power to the People” by John Lennon).  “Right on.”

Return to Contents of Posts page

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in art, coloured pencils, lanterns and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Power of Glow

  1. sherrytelle says:

    Love the glow of the lanterns. I have been experimenting with the white base layer after your previous post on the subject. I have used it on coloured paper but never thought to use it on white! It makes the pencil layer on top glide!

  2. It is an amazing thing isn’t it, adding that layer of white making the colours on top just pop. Each one of those lanterns has taken on a life of its own. ( A restaurant near us has lanterns like the Minamiza one – I knew it was a Japanese restaurant as soon as I saw it because of your drawing!)

    • Yay, glad to be making it easy for you to spot Japanese lanterns, Anna. Have you been inside to try the food yet?

      • Not yet – one on the to-do list! Oh, and I meant to say your title for this post is great, just right. Reminds me of the line in Billy Elliot where he was describing how dancing made him feel. These have a similar sense.

    • The title, Anna, is a play on the famous title “The Power of Now” by Eckhart Tolle. It is probably a bit obscure but that is what I was thinking of.
      I’m happy to settle for Billy Elliot though.
      And the last line, “Power to the Pencil” is to be sung to the tune of “Power to the People” by John Lennon.

  3. Brigitte Shaw says:

    As you know, Julie, I paint in pastel. I am entering some of my work in a group show soon (first time ever,) and wondered if you had the following problem with your coloured pencil work. It seems to me that this medium is not appreciated as much as oils, watercolours and even acrylics, and that there is a mystery about it – “is it chalk”? This lack of knowledge could result in asking lower prices for a work of equal or higher standard than the competition mediums, or at worst people not even considering to purchase. So, in trying to enlighten the public about pastel pigments I wondered if a very brief blurb beside my works explaining the history of pastels use, the longevity of the pigments, and anything else that might be interesting to help people gain an understanding of the medium would be worthwhile. How did you overcome public opinion about coloured pencils? Did you have to do something like this? It must have been difficult for you to broaden people’s knowledge and understanding about coloured pencils.
    Oh yes, I hope you had a lovely time in Kyoto, Julie.
    Brigitte

    • Hi Brigitte,
      I shouldn’t have thought people would have a problem with pastels since they have been in use for several generations now – surely a couple of hundred years at least?
      As for pencils, I haven’t found any prejudice from the buying public, only from some commercial galleries. I believe the work has spoken for itself. Recognition though, is a long slow process. You have to be patient. Step by step – you exhibit many times; people get used to seeing your work and your name. Slowly your prices appreciate. This is my experience anyway.

Leave a Reply

