The Big Picture

The artist quietly shows us what country he comes from.

The artist shows us what country he comes from.

What have you got to show for the last 12 months?  If I ask Graeme Miles Richards this question he will point to the external walls of East West Design at 303 South Terrace, South Fremantle, Western Australia.  For more than 12 months he has been working on the largest painting I’ve ever seen.  It is a glorious work (or series of works) and it is not far from where I live.  I am lucky enough to observe its progress every day.

I wrote a post about Graeme’s painting – The Art of Happiness – in January 2014.  If you look at that post you will be able to see how much more Graeme has painted since then. Over the past couple of weeks I have returned to East West Design with my camera.   To truly appreciate the art I hope you will click on the photos to enlarge them.

It was impossible to capture the entire work in one shot and this was the best I could do.

It was impossible to capture the entire work in one shot and this was the best I could do.

Singapore shophouses

Singapore shop-houses

Matt sits down in Singapore

Matt sits down in Singapore…but his sitting is just illusion.

Portugal

Portugal

A window in Paris

A window in Paris

French steps

French steps

Matt steps up

Matt steps up

One of my favourite details is this Moulin Rouge poster

One of my favourite details is this poster

Red flowers and red door

Red flowers and red door

Only the dog is aware that somebody is taking a photograph!

Only the dog is aware that somebody is taking a photograph.

Matt washing his hands.  Notice how the water has 'spilled' onto the footpath.

Matt washing his hands. Notice how the water has ‘spilled’ onto the footpath.

"Lost" notice.  I wonder if you can locate the lost bird?

‘Lost’ noticeboard. I wonder if you can locate the lost (slightly daft) bird? Clue: two photos up…

The scooter isn't real...

The scooter ISN’T real…

...but the car IS real

…but the car IS real

Into Africa - work in progress

Into Africa – the section currently being worked on.

So there you have it.  Incredible isn’t it?

Graeme Miles Richards...the boy from Nelson...we salute you!

Graeme Miles Richards…the boy from Nelson, New Zealand…you’re the best.

Return to Contents of Posts page

 

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in art, street art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Big Picture

  1. Sharon Mann says:

    I’m awe- struck, what an amazing artist. Thank you so much for sharing this tour of Graemes beautiful murals.

  2. Tina walsh says:

    Thank you so much for showing these wonderful paintings, I will be going down tomorrow to have a look. Cheers Tina.

  3. this is pretty awesome !!!

  4. Amazing work, thanks for the update Julie. How much more is there to do? I think this is the artistic equivalent of the ultra marathon. I get lost in each of these pictures the details are incredible. Karen

  5. What a wonderful project! I enjoyed all that you posted last time, but this is just taking it so much further. It is such an uplifting artwork – I can understand why people just stand in front and drink it in. Great little humorous touches too.

    • Lots of observation and lots of humour, Anna. I have photographed the art several times this year but then thought, “I’ll just wait until THIS bit is done”. So on and so forth until I finally couldn’t wait any longer. I constantly see people photographing one another in front of the various panels.

  6. Andrew Ridout says:

    Hi Julia,

    Great art!!

    Andrew

Leave a Reply

