Art as Comfort

My current drawing-in-progress in August 2014

My current drawing-in-progress in August 2014

The nightmare week I mentioned last Sunday has continued into a fortnight of flux.  I often feel nervous coming up to a solo exhibition and this is no exception…except that this time it is much worse!

What can I do with myself leading up to D-day…or I should say “O” day – exhibition opening 4th September?  The answer to my question is I can draw even though my brain is fractured into many pieces.

Working on my art may be stimulating, challenging, satisfying, annoying, frustrating, defeating and sometimes it can be, more than anything else, comforting.  The drawing I am working on now is managing to give my mind some periods of peace during my current mental maelstrom.

I plan to call this drawing “The Art of Elegance”.   It won’t be ready in time for the Elements Art Gallery exhibition.  However it is good to be working on something beyond it…something for an unknown and positive future.

I’ve saved Katsutomo (the most fun part to draw) until last.

 

 

 

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in art, artist anxiety, coloured pencils, geisha, personal history. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Art as Comfort

  1. Cathy Holtom says:

    It’s going to be another beauty! I’m so with you on art being a way to escape reality if only for a while.

  2. This is a lovely piece of therapy Julie, good luck getting through the next few days, I know your exhibition will go well, your work us stunning. Karen

  3. Immersion in something is always the best distraction, so your drawing is both productive and therapeutic. Looks as though it is coming along beautifully. Do hope all goes smoothly. I will be thinking of you on the fourth!

  4. Its weird how the closer it gets to the deadline the more brain function can fade – I refer to this often as ‘porridge brain’. I am liking the architectural rhythm of the balustrades in the background. Good luck for the exhibition I’m sure it will go swimmingly.

  5. Ann Kullberg says:

    Julie, it will go beautifully, but I can totally understand the overwhelming waves of anxiety and excitement. Gorgeous piece you’re working on…

Leave a Reply

