Jacques Russell

Jacques Russell Coloured pencil drawing, 280 x 290 mm, February, 2014.

Jacques Russell
Coloured pencil drawing, 280 x 290 mm, February, 2014.

There are trips where one boards an aeroplane and flies somewhere in real time.  Then there are trips of the mind where one meanders from one drawing to another and ends up far away from embarkation point.   After drawing a series of Australian birds in late 2013, now (mentally) I am back in Paris.   To quote from a “Talking Heads” song,  “You may ask yourself, well, how did I get here?” (“Once in a Lifetime”)

In December I flew to London (physically).  While there I toured areas rich with street art.  When I came back to Australia, the London street art I’d viewed influenced my choice of subject matter.  Two pictures I drew post-London were “Low” and “White Noise“.  They were; however, drawn from photos of street art I had taken on an earlier voyage to New York.

Low A drawing of New York street art from January, 2014.

Low
A drawing of New York street art from January, 2014.

White Noise My second drawing of New York street art, also drawn in January 2014.

White Noise
My second drawing of New York street art, also drawn in January 2014.

I thought that the elegant paste-up girl in both these drawings looked a little French.  My mind started to veer towards Paris.  So it is no surprise that I chose an example of Paris street art for my next study, which I called “Life is Beautiful“.

Life is Beautiful A drawing of Paris street art, from January 2014.

Life is Beautiful
A drawing of Paris street art, from January 2014.

I’ve gone (mentally) from New York to Paris; all started by ACTUALLY going to London. After “Life is Beautiful” I couldn’t leave Paris, now that I was back.  I remembered how good Paris felt.  So I followed up with “Tableau“.

Tableau Coloured pencil drawing, 395 x 395 mm.  Paris.  February 2014.

Tableau
Coloured pencil drawing, 395 x 395 mm. Paris. February 2014.

I enjoyed drawing “Tableau” very much, (the photo originated from an October 2012 trip).  There was that lovely Paris light once again, glowing out from my piece of paper.  Working on the dog was fun.  It led me … (pourquoi pas?)… to another dog.  Which brings us to the current drawing “Jacques Russell”.

Jacques Russell Coloured pencil drawing, 280 x 290 mm, February, 2014.

Jacques Russell
Coloured pencil drawing, 280 x 290 mm, February, 2014.

“Jacques Russell” was a dog I spotted as I wandered around Saint Germain des Prés in April 2012.  I had just arrived that very morning all the way from Australia.  I may have been sleep-deprived but I was so excited that I had to explore the streets immediately.  Sleep would wait.  The dog sat in the doorway of a stylish boutique.  I only stopped for a second, bent down and photographed him, then continued on my way.   It didn’t occur to me to draw him until the dog in “Tableau” paved the way for me to see this terrier’s artistic potential.  He’s stylish, aristocratic and French.  Matthew (husband) thought up the title “Jacques Russell”.  He said it was a throw away line but it seemed just right for this Parisian pampered pooch.

Now I have finished my little Jack Russell terrier, what will I draw next?  I don’t know however as I’m in Paris I’d like to hang out here a bit longer.  Sometimes I question whether I am captain or passenger on my voyage of discovery where each drawing is a port of call.

Return to Contents of Posts page

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in art, coloured pencils, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Jacques Russell

  1. Ah, the journey! That progression of ideas, one leading to the next, and sometimes travelling back in time is what makes the journey fun and gives a cohesion to the outcome. Seeing your works above really illustrates this, they are each connected by an invisible thread. Jaques Russell (great name!) has a wonderful expression, a bit world weary, an elegant French dog! (Just realised that they are all connected by the street …)

    • Anna, yes, they ARE all connected by the street. This being the case I first thought of calling my September 2014 exhibition “Street Art” . BUT I quickly found that each person I told thought it was going to be a whole show ON street art (ie paste-ups, graffiti, etc) so I had to qualify each time I mentioned it …”It is CALLED ‘Street Art’ but that’s because I get my subject matter from walking around the streets. ie a play on words”. Too confusing so I changed my mind.

      • Maybe you can just expand the concept a little for the title – I was thinking ‘Walking the street’ but then that brings up a whole lot of different connotations!! Even the bird series in a way is connected, because they are clearly urban birds.Mmm, food for thought.

  2. Ahh – well – I have a new exhibition title. All will be revealed eventually! I like your “Walking the Street” though; maybe for the future.

  3. Yes, that was what crossed my mind – but it could add a little frisson maybe?!

Leave a Reply

