Saphie’s Last Post

Our cat, Saphie, breathed her last breath this morning just after midnight.  Here is a photographic tribute to her.  The images are nearly all taken from scanned photographs out of my album so their quality is a bit rough.  However, we are starting from 1998, long before I started to use digital photography.

Early 1998.  Saphie was around five months old when we chose her from Perth's cat shelter.  We had only had her for a day or two when I took this photo of her with Emily.

Early 1998. Saphie was around five months old when we chose her from Perth’s cat shelter. We had only had her for a day or two when I took this photo of her with Emily.

Lucy and Saphie watched a lot of tv together.  Lucy was just four at this time.

Lucy and Saphie watched a lot of tv together. Lucy was just four at this time.

1998 or 1999, Saphie and Alicia.

1998 or 1999, Saphie and Alicia.

Lucy always got hayfever from our cat but this fact never stopped them from sitting together.

Lucy always got hayfever from our cat but this fact never stopped them from sitting together.

2000.  Lucy wearing my old Polish costume from 1970.  Saphie often turned up for photo sessions.

2000. Lucy wearing my old Polish costume from 1970. Saphie often turned up for photo sessions.

2001.  Emily studying her music - with cat.

2001. Emily studying her music – with cat.

Saphie enjoyed sitting in odd places and on odd things.

Saphie enjoyed sitting in odd places and on odd things.

Lucy's toybox full of what we called 'the soft toys'.  Can you spot the breathing soft toy?

Lucy’s toybox full of what we called ‘the soft toys’. Can you spot the breathing soft toy?

Now it is 2003.  Lucy loves Gameboy; Pokemon and Puss.

Now it is 2003. Lucy loves Gameboy; Pokemon and Puss.

Meanwhile, Matthew doesn't like cats.  He used to say "None cats, none dogs" when the girls asked for a pet.  But somehow, Saphie got round him!

Meanwhile, Matthew doesn’t like cats. He used to say NONE CATS NONE DOGS when the girls asked for a pet. But somehow, Saphie got round him!

Honestly, the places she turned up!  In the towels - tut, tut!

Honestly, the places she turned up! In the towels – tut, tut!

We decided to put her very own towel in this container.  She approved.

We decided to put her very own towel in this container. She approved.

Whether reading a newspaper, working at the computer or doing a puzzle, Saphie would plonk herself right in the middle.

Whether reading a newspaper, working at the computer or doing a puzzle, Saphie would plonk herself right in the middle.

Christmas 2009.  Naughty cat!!!

Christmas 2009. Naughty cat!!!

This was Saphie's spot right next to my computer.

This was Saphie’s spot right next to my computer.

2013.  Once again, Saphie shows how she likes to be the centre of any game and the centre of attention.

2013. Once again, Saphie shows how she likes to be the centre of any game and the centre of attention.

Saphie would sit on top of my coloured pencils.  Once or twice she knocked the whole lot onto the floor.  You should have heard me!!

Saphie would sit on top of my coloured pencils. Once or twice she knocked the whole lot onto the floor. You should have heard me!!

Saphie always wanted to sit on a knee - especially if it was cold.  I would get uncomfortable trying to balance her while I drew but for some reason I always let her stay.

Saphie always wanted to sit on a knee – especially if it was cold. I would get uncomfortable trying to balance her while I drew but for some reason I always let her stay.

Saphie enjoyed a long life of being continually ‘smushed’ (spoiled) by all of us.  In the last few months she began to fade.  Last night she had a crisis so we rushed her off to the emergency vet.  We held her and stroked her while the vet administered the barbituate which put her to sleep.  Saphie purred right to the very end.  It was the most peaceful and perfect death one could ever imagine.  As we always said “What a clever cat!”

ps we bought Saphie from Cat Haven in Shenton Park, Perth.   It is a shelter for unwanted cats and kittens and is a wonderful place to choose a cat from.

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in personal history, photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Saphie’s Last Post

  1. Karen says:

    So sorry to hear of your loss. Thank you for sharing the life of a happy cat photo-montage. All cats should have such a tribute!

  2. Thanks, Karen. I’m still not used to the fact yet – still feel like she is going to jump onto the desk any second. I think it will take a while to sink in.

  3. Mark (Moi) says:

    So sad but so glad I got meet Saphie last Xmas and saw the new year in with her! I love the photo of her on the bench with Alicia (Christmas 2009 Naughty Cat!) – they both look like they’ve been caught with their hands in the cookie jar! Actually the photos are more a great record of your daughters growing up as well as Saphie growing old! So is it down to the Perth Animal Shelter again Matt?

    • Hi Mark, I’m also very happy that you got to meet the One and Only. The answer to your question at the end is a loud and definitive NO. I don’t want any more furry companions. I’ll just enjoy being friends with the neighbourhood cats; Jack, Cleo, and Puddette. I must say, it was pretty good to wake up by myself – rather than being woken up BY SAPHIE to let her outside.

  4. Merilyn says:

    Shame – losing a pet is like losing one of the family.
    Lots of happy memories by the looks though.

  5. As Mark said, this is a record of your girls growing up as much as Saphie – it really is a lovely tribute. You will miss her in so many ways, losing a pet who has been part of the family so long is a big deal. I grew up with cats and loved them all dearly, but haven’t had one here in Australia. They all stay with you though, each with their distinct personality.

  6. Anne Mccaughey says:

    Oh Julie…so sad. I know our beloved animals have to go sometime but it is just hard letting go. Cant bear the thought of ever saying goodbye to Molly, so I understand. A lovely tribute of life with cat.X

  7. I shed a little tear as a read your post, it is so sad to loose a pet, especially the ones that grow up with the children. None pet owners do not understand what a part of the family they are. I have gone through the loss of many pets over the years and each one hurts, but I would never be without one. The joy they bring outweighs the sadness when they go and each new pet is a whole new personality to get to know. Such a lovely tribute and thank you as ever for sharing.

    • Karen, what a lovely thing to write to me. Sometimes I am incredulous at the enormous personalities that small creatures have. One of the smallest was a sparrow we had. She had fallen out of her nest whilst a fledgling so my brother brought her home. I was only a little girl at the time. We called the sparrow Miss Fletcher. She lived with us for about five weeks until the most terrible thing happened. I was shutting our kitchen door just at the time she flew through the threshold. She was killed instantly. The whole family was devastated. That was one small death which has caused me pain to think about for my whole life. I used to go to Sunday School back then. I really thought that if we prayed hard enough we could bring her back to life.

  8. peacockfairy says:

    Awww…I’m so sorry! What a lovely tribute. My heart embraces you, dear friend.

    Enviado desde mi iPad

    El 10/02/2014, a las 04:20, juliepodstolski escribió:

    > >

  9. I am so sorry for your loss ! Saphie was a beautiful cat ! I never had a cat but I have dogs so I know what it is like when a pet dies. You never forget a pet you had, they all have their own personalities just like people.

  10. stefan2009 says:

    What a terrible new 😦 ! You have all my sympathy dear Julie. Saphie is gone peacefully, surrounded by people who loved her, and she didn’t suffer which is the most important fact. But I know that is small consolation…

    • Hello Stéphanie, actually the way Saphie died peacefully is a big consolation. I hadn’t ever witnessed the moment of death before…even with my own parents. Having now been present I can see why death is referred to as the Angel of Death.

  11. Sherry Telle says:

    We really are cousins! I have never lived without a cat for more than a year. I developed an allergy to cats in my 30s and yet I now have two, both rescues. My “Sophie” was named Sasha and she was a tiny Siamese, we had for 19 years. It has been 11 years since she passed and I still miss her. I too had a little sparrow that I saved when my kids were small in the early spring, we took him to the zoo where he lived out his life in the atrium. Paint your Sophie, I have one I did of my Sasha and when I look at it I remember the good times with her. My heart goes out to you and your family.

    • Cousin Sherry, I have drawn Saphie already, I can’t remember when … 2004 perhaps. I moved the drawing to a prominant position in the house yesterday. (It had been in Lucy’s bedroom.) I am sure I will do another drawing of her but not just yet. I feel that I need to let the situation emotionally settle before I draw her again.

  12. Marie Beauchamp says:

    Sorry for your loss Julie and family :-(. Love the tribute that you have done for her. Really can see she was a very special family member. Love Marie xxx

    • Thanks Marie. I was rather at a loss yesterday (and very tired since we didn’t get home from the vet until 2am). All I felt like doing was digging out old photos to make a tribute. Because I had already put Saphie ‘out there’ in cyber world I decided to make her tribute international.

  13. kathryn says:

    what a very lovely tribute to a very beautiful, funny and loved pet. you must all miss her so much. I am soo sorry for your loss.

  14. Jonathan Beauchamp says:

    I often say “cats are people too”. What a lovely obituary for your Saphie “cat person” Julie. so sorry she has gone, but glad you got to say goodbye, and that she passed on peacefully.

  15. JULIE FORTH says:

    What a beautiful tribute to a very clever cat. Jules Forth

    • Thanks, Julie. We used to say Saphie was “the cat who stayed” because, unlike other briefly owned cats, she never disappeared. Which reminds me to say that cats who disappear and you never ever find out what happened to them cause much more grief and heartache than a cat who lives a long happy life and dies peacefully.

  16. Julie – what a beautiful tribute to Saphie!! Being a cat lover I feel your sorrow but what a wonderful life you have given her! I too have two cats that I got from the cat haven in Shenton Park – 2000 and 2001 – Max and Fox. They are also slowing down somewhat and a big part of our lives. Saphie will always stay within your heart though you will feel empty for awhile – time will make it pass. How fortunate for you all that she passed away fairly peacefully. Sending my love and big hugs to you and your family. xxx

    • Thanks Julie, the EVENT which made us rush Saphie to the vet wasn’t particularly peaceful. Saphie was suffering very much – but once the vet made her comfortable then the end WAS peaceful.
      You must mix up the names Max and Fox mustn’t you? My brother is Max and husband, Matt. When they are together I mix up their names like anything. Max and Fox sound as similar as Max and Matt.

  17. mousy says:

    I am really sorry for your loss. Those pictures are really lovely!

  18. Karla Beauchamp says:

    What a beautiful tribute. So saddened to hear of your family’s loss 😦

  19. Apparently, God needed a good cat! We are so blessed to have them as part of our lives for the time we are allowed.

Leave a Reply

