Wings

"Wings" mixed media drawing.  285 x 335 mm.  January 2014.  A pied oystercatcher stretches on the sandbar at Point Walter.

“Wings” mixed media drawing. 285 x 335 mm. January 2014. A pied oystercatcher stretches on the sandbar at Point Walter.

You may remember that I drew an oystercatcher a couple of months ago.  I have reposted the drawing (below).

Eye Catcher 285 x 305 mm, November 2013, mixed media on pescia paper.  Copyright 2013

Eye Catcher
285 x 305 mm, November 2013, mixed media on pescia paper. Copyright 2013

The subject of “Wings” and “Eye Catcher” is the same individual.  In my drawing “Eye Catcher” he was just about to open his beak to yawn.  The subsequent drawing reveals that after yawning he had a big stretch!   I was so happy that I caught this with my camera.   I started working on “Wings” before I went to London and finished it when I recovered from jetlag.  In fact it was completed only yesterday.

I am continuing to use oil pastels and wax crayons with my pencils; something which I started to do several drawings ago.   It is refreshing to be experimenting with new materials and combining them with pencils.  I stocked up on pastels, crayons and pencils at London Graphic Centre buying items unavailable in Australia.  What a beautiful display of Caran d’Ache I saw there.  I asked if I could take a photo so that I could put it in my blog.  (They said yes.)  I am giving you their website www.londongraphics.co.uk because you can buy their products online.

DSC_0545blog_edited-1

However I digress from “Wings”.  I hope you can tell from the fact that birds yawn and stretch when I am watching them that I am respectful and try not to bother them in the slightest by my presence.  I tried to be like that when I was photographing maiko and geisha as well.  I wanted to melt into the environment so that they wouldn’t even notice me.  It suits me to be invisible; watching but not watched.

Return to Contents of Posts page     Related post:  A Difficult Birth

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in art, Birds on the waterfront, coloured pencils and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wings

  1. Wow Julie, this is fantastic! You continue to amaze me with your mad pencil skills.

  2. Looking great Julie – the colour consistency between the works in this series is impressive, when they are all exhibited together they will make such a great display. The shape of the wings makes a wonderful pattern – even though it is clearly a bird, it takes on a new character, as if it is about to dance.

    • Thanks, Anna. They aren’t exactly consistent. For instance the sky in the first oystercatcher drawing is a bit of a different blue from the sky in the second. When I was in the finishing stages of the second one, I put the first one just above it so that I could see them together and tweak the second one so that it wasn’t too far out.

  3. Mark Westenra says:

    Nice to see the final result of the work I was to witness being produced! Your beautiful artwork ‘Bus Stop’ looks fabulous in my living room here. Thanks again for that. And I’ve watched the 2nd series of ‘Bookclub’ already! Hilarious. Will send it back with the Curzon sisters book which I’m still reading. Ciao bella.

  4. Robyn Varpins says:

    ooh. I am intrigued by this mixed media move …..we never stop growing and exploring ….good on ya

Leave a Reply

