On the Waterfront

"On the Waterfront"  Coloured pencil drawing. 275 x 525 mm.  October 2013.

“On the Waterfront” Coloured pencil drawing.
275 x 525 mm. October 2013.

The same day that I lay flat on the concrete in order to photograph a tern (which became the subject of the drawing “Just Landed’) I also photograped several seagulls.  It was extremely windy which is why many birds were taking shelter by standing at ground level rather than flying.

“On the Waterfront” has become the third drawing of my Fremantle bird series.  Putting a bird into the picture allows me to incorporate the industrial shapes and colours of a working port but not in a bland hard edged way.  It isn’t easy to get the compositions though.  First, I require a bird; second, it needs to be in the right position for me to get the view I want; third, somehow I have to visually navigate my way around three bridges which slash across the landscape of East Fremantle – annoying me very much!  In fact working on this series I now remember why I stopped drawing birds on the waterfront last time (several years ago).  While I rather like the old wooden bridge in this drawing, the newer traffic bridge looking across to East Fremantle is just plain boring.  Much as it is useful when I want to drive somewhere, it interferes with my river view!    You can see the lower level of that bridge in “Take Me to the River”.    I managed to censor most of it out of the drawing.

I have made a work-in-progess page about this drawing.  Have a look as there is information about pencil extenders and blenders.  The link is Work in Progress 9: On the Waterfront.  I explain how I hold the pencil extender ever so lightly like a paintbrush so that the pencil skitters across the page making indistinct random marks.   This sort of repeated mark-making eventually produces a soft impressionistic atmosphere.

On the "Work in Progress 9: On the Waterfront" page, I explain about the pencil extender for use in blurry work.

On the “Work in Progress 9: On the Waterfront” page, I explain about the pencil extender for use in blurry work.

Return to Contents of Posts page        Related page:  Subject 6: Birds in a landscape

About juliepodstolski

I am a realist artist who works in coloured pencils.
Image | This entry was posted in art, Birds on the waterfront, coloured pencils and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On the Waterfront

  1. Today neither of the two photos on this post was visible in the email send-out. Only the captions were there. I am hoping that WordPress will figure out eventually what is going on here!
    Next Day: I have the answer as to why my images didn’t come through on the email notification. Brandon, from WordPress, worked it out. It was because I was putting double quotation marks within the caption. Those “…” were the problem. I’m so happy that the riddle is solved. Thank you, Brandon!!!

  2. Love this one Julie, your struggles were not in vain. The compositions works really well, I especially enjoy the way the bird stares so intently out of the frame. Karen

  3. I love this one. The balance of crisp bird and soft background is perfect. And I like the seagull’s intense concentration too!

Leave a Reply

